Another Creepy Baby Doll

This one is less creepy in form and design (although it’s creepy because it looks like a real baby), more creepy in situation. It was sitting up on this wall staring at everyone as they passed by. Like the lingering lost soul of an abandoned child. And it looks like it has a dirty diaper.

And in case you missed them from previous posts:

This is one my daughter got for Christmas. Sometimes I wake up at night and find it at sitting the edge of my bed staring at me. (Original post: What It Means to Be Brazilian, and Why I Have a Long Road…)

This one we found in the playroom at my sister-in-law’s building. It kind of looks like it is permanently screaming.

It’s really the hair that’s disturbing on this one (ok, the eyes too). It’s pretty common here for baby dolls to just have hair growing out of one or two spots on their head. This one was at a little school in Rio.

This one is particularly curious in design. It has one mechanical hand that will squeeze your finger and a tongue that moves in and out – for no reason that I could figure out. Creepy. I actually think this is an American product that was rejected in the U.S. market and brought to Brazil because the box is completely in English. You can pick up the Baby Sweet Touch for a sweet price at the Sao Paulo Sam’s Club. (Original post: Sam’s Club Sao Paulo.)

I’m fairly certain there will be more to come…

Gallery | This entry was posted in Culture Conflicts, Daily Escapades, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Another Creepy Baby Doll

  1. Alex says:

    NO! Dolls are the worst!

  2. Shelley says:

    oh my, I started crying I was laughing so hard with the one with the funny mouth. Too much!

  3. Ray says:

    I have to say freaking “clowns” scare the living …. out of me 😦
    Never liked clowns, they have freaked me out since I was a child! 🙂

    Ray

  4. Ray says:

    These dolls look so creepy, you could almost get to the conclusion they are clowns without the make up 😦

    Ray

    • HA! Clowns without makeup! HA! Totally. Yikes.
      Yeah, what’s up with clowns? I just looked it up on Wikipedia, which comments that the origin of clowns are from Ancient Egypt, and clowns and priests were the same thing. And that Ute (Native American Indian) myths feature a cannibalistic clown monster called the Siats. Both kind of creepy.
      I also found out you have coulrophobia. I love Wikipedia.

  5. Ray says:

    Coulrophobia!! Ah, living and learning!!!
    I don’t know why, but as a kid I confused clowns with thiefs, because cartoons showed thieves with masks, and for some reason I made the connection, thieves masks and clowns makeup and from then on I always had nightmares about them 🙂

    Ray

  6. It’s a good thing you didn’t grow up in the U.S., you’d be calling the police on all the birthday entertainers!

  7. workmomad says:

    At least the one with the blue eyes and the two sprouts of hair on its head has a nice smile!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

  8. Pingback: Baby Doll Expats | born again brazilian

  9. Pingback: CBD Award | born again brazilian

  10. Pingback: The Creepy Side of Campos do Jordão | born again brazilian

What do you think?

