Things I Miss

Things I Miss

Whole Foods

I admit it. I was an organic junkie, and there was no better way to get my fix than a stroll through the aisles of Whole Foods. Sure, it was nicknamed Whole Paycheck. But unlike other addictions you could totally convince yourself (with the help of their in-store marketing campaigns) that it was all for a good cause and you were actually contributing to global well-being.  I especially miss agave nectar and their lunch and dinner buffets.

Trader Joe’s

I first discovered TJ’s in California. When they opened one in NYC I thought my life had finally become complete, even though there was a line out the door on most evenings.

Jet Blue

Airlines are just getting worse and worse, except for Jet Blue. They actually try to make you comfortable and happy, usually for a good price. Bizarre concept.

Seda France Candles

Even if I could find a place that sells these candles here in Brazil, it would be probably so outrageously expensive it would suck the enjoyment out of it.

Bloomingdale’s sale season

Forget about discount stores and outlet malls. With a fist full of coupons, nothing beats the deals during their quarterly sales. I also miss that there is no tax on clothing in New York.

NoLIta sale season

The cool stuff you can get for next to nothing as the tiny boutiques tried to get rid of their inventory to make room for the next season almost felt (so right but so) wrong.

Kid Gyms

New York had a handful of gyms with evening open play session where your child could jump on a trampoline and run around like crazy and tired themselves out so much they would be falling asleep at dinner. I can’t find anything like that here.

Things I Love

Everyone kisses

Everyone kisses every time they meet, whether it be for the first time or the hundredth time. Take any stressful or high-tension situation and kisses will diffuse it to some degree.

Heighten Interest in Me

If you are an American in Brazil, the population around you is divided in two camps. One – people could care less about you. Two – people that are interested in you because you are an American. Turns out to be about 50/50. How much easier could it be to weed through the people that you meet.

Invisibility

Sure, I‘ve been known to get irritated. But here, if someone is doing something I consider inconsiderate or ignorant (like on the sidewalk or in a grocery store) I can comment out loud and most of the time they won’t know I’m talking to or about them. I’m satisfied and they don’t know they are being insulted. This has yet to backfire on me, but I’m certain it will some day soon (because I’m actually not invisible, and some people do speak English here).

This entry was posted in Daily Escapades, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things I Miss

  1. Ray Adkins says:

    Living in the US, I can say I miss the following things from Brazil:

    -Having good quality affordable produce in general.
    -High quality meats at a reasonable price.
    -Weekends on the beach.
    -Sao Paulo’s mild weather.
    -Sao Paulo’s Pizza!! sorry New York but Sao Paulo’s Pizza is the BEST in the whole wide WORLD 😉
    I miss good Pizza so bad 😦

    Ray

  2. HA! I never cared that much for New York pizza, but CHICAGO pizza… that’s another story!
    The pizza here is good. Lots of very interesting options. I need more weekends at the beach…

  3. Rachel says:

    I so miss Trader Joes and their Charles Shaw!

  4. danielle says:

    Have you guys not discovered Dom Bosco wine yet?! It is a FINE subtitute for Two Buck Chuck. I’m their biggest promoter in the ex-pat market.

  5. No! Is it everywhere?? I’ll have to look for it!

What do you think?

