Information Invasion

There is obviously no legislation about what you can ask people in Brazil. No holds back. Go for it all.

Here is what I was asked when I was trying to buy tickets to the aquarium.

My name

Brazilian version of a U.S. Social Security number (this is quite common, though I would never give anyone my SS# in the U.S.)

Address

Telephone

Email

Ok, pretty standard (except for the Brazilian SS#).

But here is where is gets weird…

My identification number

My date of birth

My sex

My level of education

(Remember, I’m only trying to purchase tickets to the Sao Paulo Aquarium, not applying for a job.)

My MARRIAGE status

(Remember, I’m only trying to purchase tickets to the Sao Paulo Aquarium, not applying to the Foreign Service.)

HOW MANY TIMES I’VE GIVEN BIRTH!

Seriously? And all the information was REQUIRED or I couldn’t proceed. Not optional. Required. Really? Why does the Sao Paulo Aquarium feel they require this information about me? What are they going to do with this information? Other than sell it.

Needless to say, I didn’t buy the tickets online.

This entry was posted in Daily Escapades, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Information Invasion

  1. danielle says:

    I think that sometimes it’s for marketing purposes, and sometimes it’s just a lack of common sense (“we look more official if we ask for lots of information!!!”). I just make up information sometimes.

What do you think?

